It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 1:22 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Newbie with a new yard
PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:06 am 

Hello. I am new to this and also just moved into a new house that has a recently sodded (beginning of September) Bermuda grass lawn. Nothing has been done as far as fertilizing or any treatments (unless the builder did it and we didn't know). Is it too late now to do fertilizing or anything else?

Thanks!
Kerri

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:02 am 

Personally I would never have anyone put down Bermuda grass - it's the worst weed in the world if you're interested in gardening. Buffalo grass is adapted to the area and needs a lot less water. However, moving forward, there are things you can do in your yard any month of the year in an organic program.

The home page of DirtDoctor.com has an area in the middle for finding Organic Advice. In particular, the Organic Maintenance Calendar and the Organic Guides that offer a lot of answers for beginners and refreshers for the more experienced users. In particular, take a look at the enumerations of acceptable products in the organic program and the basics of organic gardening. Those should help you form a plan and come back with more targeted questions.

Good luck!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 10:11 am 

Well we didn't have a choice on the type of grass that was put down.

I had already looked at the maintenance calendar and it looked like we should have fertilized in October, that's why I'm asking if we're too late to fertilize now.

Thanks! :)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:42 pm 

Its not too late if you plan on using an organic program to treat your lawn.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:03 pm