It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:37 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 4:37 pm 

Can I plant a crepe myrtle in a garden about 8 inches away from my home?

It would be the PERFECT placement as far as cutting some sunlight from hitting my house and I got a great deal on this young plant.

Thanks!

:lol: :D :) :( :o 8) :? :shock: :x :P :oops: :cry: :wink: :roll: :twisted: :evil: :!: :?: :idea: :arrow:

Sorry...having some fun with the emoticons...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2003 7:44 am 

It really depends on the variety. Dwarf species may not cause any problems at all due to their restricted height. I'm not an expert, but I can tell you from personal experience that it is better to plant non-dwarf varieties as far away from your house as you can. You may encounter problems if you have a single-story house and you have planted it too close to the foundation. Whenever the wind blows the branches will end up scraping away your roofing shingles, the paint on your siding and under the eaves, and can cause damage to window screens and scratch the window glazing. This can cause serious problems for your house as water and insects can enter these areas. Planting it too close will require excessive pruning and reshaping to keep it from damaging your house. The branches are the only problem I have ever had when a crepe myrtle was too close to the foundation. I have not had any problems with the roots causing damage to the foundation.