It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:19 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: whiteflies on gardenias
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 9:21 am 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have lots of white flies on my gardenias. I sprayed yesterday with pepper spray and Garrett juice...they are still there Does anyone know how often I need to spray to get rid of them...also,can I use ladybugs after spraying with those solutions. I am new to this organic stuff!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 9:22 pm 

I read on another website that you can use Pantene ProV clarifying shampoo added to water and spray it on the plants. I've never tried it myself, but if all else fails, you could give it a try. I think the poster said she put a few drops in a quart of water.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:50 pm 

I would not use Pantene on my plants. Maxicrop or another liquid seaweed spray will work. Make sure you get the undersides of the leaves. Best to apply in the early morning or early evening. Ladybugs and other beneficials will not be harmed. Make sure to keep it shaken up real well, too.

The Laws of Ecology:
"All things are interconnected. Everything goes somewhere. There's no such thing as a free lunch. Nature bats last." --Ernest Callenbach

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:40 pm 

Thanks for the response...do you know how often I can spray with the seaweed solution?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2004 8:45 am 

Once a week should be fine. If it rains, you may wish to reapply.

The Laws of Ecology:
"All things are interconnected. Everything goes somewhere. There's no such thing as a free lunch. Nature bats last." --Ernest Callenbach

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 6:51 am