It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Pasture rebuilding
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:28 am 

I am new to list, although I must admit I've been lurking in the wings and have much enjoyed the information shared here on this site.

My wife and I purchased about 100 acres almost two years ago, down in Navarro County.
The land has been severely over grazed and no improvements whatsoever had taken place over the last 10 years or more. We just about have everything ready to begin sprigging a couple of 20 acre pastures with coastal bermuda and would like some recommendations of how to go about making sure that that grass will take off.
We raise miniture cows, Dexters, so we don't need alot of hay or grass just enough to keep them happy and healthy.

Thank you for any suggestions, you might have.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 9:44 am 

Hi Ron-
There are many organic amendments you can apply to help rebuild your pasture. You don't mention anything about a soil test being done, do you have one? What type of soil do you have, I assume it's sandy.
There are three things that make up the properties of soil; they are physical, chemical and biological. I believe that as you improve the biology of the soil, the other two will improve. Given that, I have been spraying my pasture with liquid compost. I graze goats, not cows, which have different needs on pasture.
I would recommend you contact someone like Betsy Ross from Sustainable Growth Texas to discuss your situation. http://www.sustainablegrowthtexas.com/
She has cows and sells grass fed beef. She also treats pastures with liquid compost and consults all around the state. I have no financial interest in her business but she is a friend of mine.
Mark Chapin is a contributor to this forum and has a pasture restoration/fertilizationservice.
Please take the time to as much research as you can before you take action. It will save you money and time.
Tony M