It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:36 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: New to composting
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 9:56 pm 

Newbie here... :roll:

I'm ready to start but I'd appreciate any input or guidance anybody wants to offer (especially the Captain!).

I also have some questions -- those are at the bottom.

Thanks in advance for taking time with me!!

1. I'm planning to use a 4'x4' slab made of some clay-y soil that I don't want to use anywhere else. I'm going to put a thick plastic dropcloth over that and rig up a little trough around the whole thing so I can catch the leachate when I water the pile.

2. My 1 cubic yard pile will go on top of the slab. I'm not planning on surrounding it or enclosing it. Just a pile.

3. We've got "junk" trees that we're savagely pruning to be rid of them. I'm going to use the thickest of those branches to make a mat on the slab and then stack the pile on it. Hopeful that will give some air up underneath.

4. I've got 3 bags of leaves, lots of grass clippings (collected from other people's lawns -- ours get mulched, of course :D), some chopped up swiss chard that should have been eaten by us but we didn't get that far, a 40# bag of cow manure, a 5# box of blood meal, liquid molasses to add, and some Agrispon.

5. I also read on this forum that somebody takes their kitchen waste, puts it in water and lets it break down, then waters their pile with it. I've got a container I'm collecting things in but because it's got more "food" kind of stuff, I don't want to put it in until the pile is "cooking".

6. Regular turning and watering is a given.

7. This will be the first of 3 piles. I plan to build this and only add to it one time (the kitchen scraps breaking down in water) but only after it's "hot".

8. I want to have new, middle-aged, and old piles and not add to them after they're built.

Ok, that's the plan, now here's the questions :?: ...