It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 8:02 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Over watered Red Oak
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 10:08 am 

I'm a north Texas Denton resident. On April 28th, at Denton's Red Bud Festival, I earned myself a free 3 gallon Red Oak tree which I planted in the backyard. It is a new construction home, built in 2014, so the grade of the yard is set for plenty of drainage. I didn't do a perk test before planting, we chose it's spot due out of functionality since I felt the yard grade would be suited for plating anywhere. I did do a no no when I planted it, I mixed in some green sand, lava sand, and corn gluten meal in with the back fill and the soil I dug out beneath it. It is planted an inch-couple above the yard grade, with its flare exposed.

Last Wednesday I noticed the top leaves of the tree looking wilted and grayed, and the soil rather wet from the weekly+ rain we have been getting. At this point, I gave the leaves, trunk and (more water i know) the roots some garrett juice, and the week before I had spread out garlic powder. Yesterday, before the storm came through, I noticed those leaved on top that had wilted, turned more towards a brown color and I was finding some that had fallen off throughout the yard.

I'm assuming it is pretty much a waiting game and hoping for the best now.Doug Sheldon gave me some helpful advice/info, but does anyone else have any experience or treatment plans? Would digging out around the root ball and letting air in there cause more harm than good? Would removing it from the hole to dry be an more extreme/beneficial option? Maybe just a small trench coming out from the tree, but away from the root ball, going downhill to encourage drainage? Didn't take any pictures, but the trunk is still green, leaves from my experience (maybe not by my description) show evidence of drowning though.

Post subject: Re: Over watered Red Oak
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 5:44 pm