It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:15 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Newspaper in compost
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 3:14 pm 

I read in one of the Dirt Doctor's books that I could use newspaper that has been shredded in my compost pile. I am a complete beginner to this so I am hoping ya'll can help me out. :?: Is the newspaper considered a brown item like dried leaves or a green item like food stuffs? Can you tell me what kind of ratio to look for? Also - can I put grass clippings in there too?
Many thanks for any replies!
:mrgreen: Nina :-)

Post subject: NEWSPAPER
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 4:50 pm 

A lot of newspapers use ink that shouldn't be used in compost. Grass clippings are fine if they haven't been subjected to non-organic junk.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 5:38 pm 

nina norman-
Newspaper is a carbon or brown. The master composter class taught us to use a 30-1 ratio of carbon to nitrogen or brown to green. That is difficult to do but if you keep dry leaves or newspaper in a plastic bag near your compost pile you can add a big handful whenever you throw in some green. Grass clippings can be used but they tend to clump up and go anaerobic so I would let them dry out and use them as a brown. Why are you collecting grass clippings? They should be mulched (composted) right on your lawn.
BTY, everything will compost over time no matter what the ratio. It just goes faster when you have the correct ratio, keep it like a moist sponge and turn the pile often.
Tony M

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:58 am