It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:02 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003 5:36 pm 

Ok gardening wizards, I need some help as I'm new at this.

I have one huge compost pile (30' L, 5' W, 3' H) and some of it is semi warm, other spots are cold as ice. I need help on getting this puppy to cook evenly like a butterball turkey.

The compost pile is on the ground (to allow worms in and nutrients to leech out and condition the ground) and I built it in the following manner:

1. put small tree branches on the bottom (I think that was bad advice).
2. layered grass on top of the branches.
3. created a cavity and poured in shredded cedar mulch, peat moss, cow manure, humus, leaves and the occasional veggie scraps.
4. Covered it up with more grass so the nitrogen wouldn't escape.
5. Watered and turned once a week (again, suspect that's bad advice, too).
6. Poured 2 gallons of straight black strap molasses into the pile.
7. poured "beneficial micro organisms" into the soil (enough to treat two tons worth of compost).

The pile was toasty warm until I turned it, and then it never regained its heat. So I went back to the other site and it said it may be too much/not enough water/air/nitrogen. So I turned the pile, added more manure, peat moss and grass, and watered it. NOTHING. :cry:

What am I doing wrong and how can I get this pile rolling hot so it'll somewhat decomposed by the spring? I even got desperate - I went out, bought a black plastic tarp (a little shorter than the pile to allow some air flow) in hopes the sun beating down on something black would help it to cook. No dice.....

The pile will be used for a veggie garden I want to start around March with typical cold weather crops, but that might not happen as soon as I'd like if I can't get this pile to cooperate.

Thanks the to wonderful function called "EDIT", I can report some new 'additions' to the pile thanks to what's been posted in here. I hope I did it right...